Hot Air Balloon Festival

IMG_8429Youth is about adventure

Last February 24, my block mate and I went on an adventure with my other block mate’s family to Pampanga’s Hot Air Balloon Festival. I’ve never been to a Festival other than one we have back at Baguio so it felt nice to experience a different culture/ festival. I’ve learned a few things during our trip there.

1. The earlier, the better. Apparently when we got there at around 5(?), it was already late and full of people. We weren’t at front like how we wanted. We were supposed to leave at two but I think my block mate’s family slept in. I didn’t know the festival started really early in the morning so getting back to the dormitory after a performance I had at around 12 was really tiring. I was really sleepy the entire time I was watching the hot air balloons!

2. Umbrellas are a must and know that you can never put on too much sun screen. After the hot air balloons finish, you might want to watch the flight exhibition and when they start that’s when the sun comes out as well. Amazingly, I got a really bad tan after that trip so bring umbrellas and put plenty of sun screen!

3. I think the best kind of lens you can use for this event would be a wide angle. Just my opinion, of course; it completely depends on how you want your photos to come out. I tried out my 55-250 mm telephoto lens and got pretty stellar shots. Contrary to wanting to be up front to take pictures up close, I actually wanted to go even farther because the balloons were way to zoomed into when I started taking them. Pauline, my block mate, ended up using the 50 mm lens and I think she got really good shots as well.

I guess why I say the wide angle lens is best is because it’s not too up close to the subject and not too far away from the subject as well. I think one of our friends who we bumped into while we were there brought a wide angle lens. I’m not absolutely sure though!IMG_8362 IMG_8364 IMG_8366 IMG_8367 IMG_8372 IMG_8377 IMG_8384 IMG_8385 IMG_8387 IMG_8434 IMG_8414 IMG_8415 IMG_8422 IMG_8423 IMG_8426 IMG_8432 IMG_8450 IMG_8479 IMG_8497 IMG_8501 IMG_8508 IMG_8527 IMG_8534 IMG_8535 IMG_8538 IMG_8544IMG_8500

Image

Leave a Reply

