Summer Vacation

bucketlist

Now that summer has officially started for me, I’m more than excited to start on my list of things to do this summer. Unlike most of my course mates, I chose not to take an internship this summer and instead moved it to my semester break which means I have a lot more time at home. Hopefully, I get to do everything this summer and still have fun

bucketlist2

1. I have to admit I thought blogging again would spark a blast of daily blog posts but upon realizing what I really wanted my blog to achieve I started feeling stuck. There are just so many things I can write about but given that not everything can be done immediately I feel a bit pressed for time (with regards to the gap between each post). This summer, I hope I can keep up with posting on a regular basis and with sure quality. Do you feel the pro blogger in me already? Haha!

2. I most definitely need to brush up on my Photoshopping. Towards the summer before junior year, I started learning how to vector care of my good friend, Kevin. I’ve done quite a bit of work since then but I’m not exactly in the skill level I want to be in. There are a lot of things I have yet to learn like making my own typography and manipulating photos!

3. This summer I hope I get the chance to be mentored by someone for photography. As much as I love self learning, I think I need someone to evaluate me and teach me a few technical skills.

4. As I have mentioned in my previous post, my family and I are going to Hong Kong for vacation really soon. I have never been there but I’m already excited to see the streets, the people, and the fooood! I’m so excited to take pictures; I already have a few photo concepts I want to try out while I’m there. If you have suggestions of places, food, and events we should check out while we’re there, please do tell!

5. I learned December of last year that my best friend will be moving to the States to be with her mom. This is 90% of the reason why I chose not to intern this summer, because I wanted to spend more time with her before she left. We’re planning a despedida party for her and I’m very giddy about it. So far, we’re planning sky lanterns and dinner by the beach! I hope everything pushes through and she likes what we have planned. We start meeting up after I get back from Hong Kong so I’m stoked!

6. For those of you who don’t know, I play the ukulele. A few years back, I learned how to play the guitar but that didn’t go on for long. I think one of the main reasons is that I couldn’t bring it around (or even hold it properly) because it was so big. Last year, I decided to try learning a new instrument and I found the ukulele to be charming so my brother bought it for me for Christmas. I know quite a few songs but I want to get even better; probably learn tabs and not just chords, maybe? I actually want to learn how to read notes and compose songs!

7. Kevin and I are collaborating on a project that I hope we can finish or at least launch by this summer. I’m not exactly sure if I can give details about what we’re planning on doing but I really hope all of you will like it when it comes out. I have a few concepts in mind already and I’m thinking of a few more!

So that’s it! There are a few things that I wasn’t able to include such as transition seminars, planning seminars, etc with my org, a few other projects I plan on having and get togethers with my friends but I think these are the things I’m most excited about doing for the summer. I hope your summer will be just as awesome. Love, Sonya

Photo sources: 1/2/3/4/5/6

Summer Vacation

Leave a Reply

