On Letting Go

onlettinggoLately, we’ve been fixing up the house by adding a couple of things and throwing out a couple of things as well. It’s very timely since I’m here for the break and every time I visit I end up fixing my stuff and throwing out the things that I don’t need or like anymore. Unlike the previous years, this year I ended up throwing and giving away a whole garbage bag full of old memories like stuff toys, roses, clothes, etc.

You see, I’m not exactly sentimental. I can throw things out when I don’t feel a certain attachment or I don’t see it’s practicality anymore. Don’t get me wrong, though, I’m not heartless either. A few things I own can be considered completely worthless but I find difficulty in letting them go.

Letting go is a part of growing up. It takes courage and conviction to let go of things that used to matter to us like the past, aspirations, grudges, opinions, etc. But more than anything it also takes time. Last year, I couldn’t throw away this corsage I used for our high school banquet but as I looked at it and remembered that night I realized that I could let it go already. Just like the things in our closet, we need time to re-evaluate who we are and what can still be considered important to us and what we need to throw away to move on.

I am no where near the person I want to become (or at least my idea of who I should become) and I know that there are a lot of things I need to let go of still but right now I think I’m fine. I don’t know what’s going to happen in the future and I’ll probably collect more junk in my closet than before but that’s okay. Sometimes, we have to let time run it’s course and hopefully make things better. And hopefully things will get better.

So.. what are you trying to let go of?

Pattern source: http://patternandco.tumblr.com/

On Letting Go

One thought on “On Letting Go

Leave a Reply

