The Songs You Listen to When You’re Sad

This summer has been rough for me. Demons I thought I have finally silenced have found their way to my summer and managed to take over my second semester happiness hangover. Unfortunately for me, these moments of sadness have stretched out into weeks.

To somehow relieve a bit of my sadness, I often lie down, stare at the ceiling for a bit, and get lost in sad music. A bit masochistic, maybe, but there’s nothing quite like listening to your feelings translated into song. I’m not assuring a guarantee on happiness by playing sad music but I think it manages to give a sense of comfort through the words that they sing.

I hope you like this list I put together and I hope it’ll make you feel better as it did with me.

1. Almost Lover- Fine Frenzy

I cannot go to the ocean

I cannot drive the streets at night

I cannot wake up in the morning

Without you on my mind

2. Near to You- Fine Frenzy

He and I had something beautiful

but so dysfunctional, it couldn’t last

I loved him so but I let him go

’cause I knew he’d never love me back

3. Gravity- John Mayer

Keep me where the light is

Just keep me where the light is

4. The World Spins Madly On- The Weepies

I just got lost

And slept right through the dawn

And the world spins madly on

5. Lying to You- Keaton Henson

Because I found her

And now she is gone.

6. It’s Hard to Get Around the Wind- Alex Turner

And even when you know the way it’s gonna blow

It’s hard to get around the wind.

7. Youth- Daughter

And if you’re still breathing

You’re the lucky ones

Cos most of us are heaving through corrupted lungs.

8. Creep- Radiohead

I wish I was special.

9. Keep Me- Mateo Escueta

Maybe somewhere down the road, you’ll remember me

And think of me like I think of you

10. Falling- The Civil Wars

Try to convince me

That I’m not drowning

Oh let me tell you, I am

The Songs You Listen to When You’re Sad

One thought on “The Songs You Listen to When You’re Sad

Leave a Reply

