Hello there

wander4

(Say hello to my too long ago straight haired self!)

My first semester of senior year has finally reached a close. Finals week ended and now I’m working over at DDB. I’m sorry for not updating this blog as much as I have promised. Usually even during school, I’d still have time for other things like watching movies or reading. This semester, however, proved to be the exception. When alumni would tell stories on how difficult their senior years were, I thought to myself how it would probably be just like any other year. I was wrong. Dead wrong.

This semester, I experienced weeks of laboring to finish projects only to submit them late or really close to the deadline, staying up until the sun started rising and not finishing what I’ve been working on for the whole day, and feeling so dead exhausted everyday for months! These “difficulties” may not be new to the college student but I have got to say that this is the first semester I’ve ever felt this drained.

So what has been happening lately?

1. THESISKILLINGMEEE

picture648

Thesis: the culprit for the long sleepless nights, anxious weeks, and awkward tensions. Senior Communication students are usually busiest in their first semester because of it. To be honest, I don’t think we’re even done yet. Our professor never got back to us on our thesis revisions and it was to be passed weeks ago. For now, I’m going to embrace the little time I have for myself (and internship and CoSA).

2. DDB Internship

ddb2 ddb

Just a bit of context: every COM major is required to fulfill at least 120 hours of on the job training and after sending my resume to just about every agency in the Philippines (and one in Singapore) and having the privilege of two ad agencies reply I ended up in DDB under the Strategic Planning department.

Things have been going well for me so far and I hope to continue doing well (and hopefully get better). I’m not really confident in my Advertising skills (if that’s the word for it) so I get a bit nervous every time I’m assigned to an account but I just tell myself that I’m here to learn and achieving greatness at a slow pace never hurt anyone. The people here are also really nice to me. My supervisor makes me laugh a lot but is really insightful and brilliant all at the same time.

3. This boy

gabegollage

Without making this post too personal, I’d like you all to meet Gabe. I’ve got a good feeling about this boy. He’s pretty special.

4. CoSA love you (budum-tsss!)

1378568_10151902139094320_952762589_nRecently, I have attained  the position of president in my school organization, CoSA. After the bawling and daily panic attacks, I can now say that I am ready to fulfill the role of president. I still feel a bit insecure about myself leading the org but I think I’m getting there. We just got back from our Evaluation Seminar and I’m very proud to have such a great team beside me.

5. Everything else

This is my last semester in the Ateneo and I still can’t wrap my head around it. A lot has happened not just in this semester but for the three years I have been here. There are just so many things to do still and I’m not even half way through. I don’t know how to handle everything happening all at once. It just feels like having so much and having it sift through your fingers at the same time.

College has been such a blast and I have never grown so much. I think that’s the reason why I’m so attached to it.

Here’s to the future.

Hello there

Leave a Reply

